JSGS associate director recognized for teaching excellence

Aug 21, 2012

Ken Rasmussen

Dr. Ken Rasmussen, associate director at the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy (JSGS) University of Regina campus, has been awarded the 2012 Pierre De Celles Award for excellence in teaching public administration by the Institute of Public Administration of Canada (IPAC).

At the 64th IPAC conference held in August in St. John’s, Newfoundland, Rasmussen was recognized in front of his peers as being an exceptionally talented and creative teacher who shows dedication to improving public administration education through innovative teaching.

“Ken Rasmussen’s significant contributions to public administration education in Canada show so many ways of teaching: coaching, innovating, and inspiring colleagues and students,” said Andre Fortier, chair of the IPAC Endowment Fund which sponsors the award. “We are thrilled to recognize him with this distinction.”

Michael Atkinson, executive director of JSGS, agrees this recognition is well-deserved.

“We at JSGS are delighted to see Ken receive this national award,” said Atkinson. “He has an enviable reputation among students as a provocative instructor, as someone who challenges current wisdom by first focusing on principles and then drawing on current research. As this award indicates, Ken cares deeply about his students and they recognize that in Ken they have a professor who is completely in touch with the discipline and the work of his peers.”

In addition to his role as professor and associate director of JSGS, Rasmussen is the founding director of JSGS, and the president of the Canadian Association of Programs in Public Administration (CAPPA). To learn more about Ken Rasmussen, please visit the JSGS website. To learn more about IPAC, please visit the IPAC website.



Back to Archived News